Lol I’m a SnowN1gger

I’m fortunate in that my ancestors have carefully recorded our history. Seriously-I can look up about a million years of family heraldry just on the interwebs.  Maybe not a million but enough to make my eyes glaze over and think ‘Who are these people again?” They’re all English English English.  Despite the fact that I hail from the oldest families in America.  

Mayflower-650

My parents were still little kids when the Hart-Cellar act to destroy America was passed. (At that time 51% of the country could trace its roots back to the founders)  It actually shocks me how little diversity there is in my family tree. I remember some of my sibs complaining that ‘we’re so boooooring’ I defended us externally to them and half-heartedly because I was older and didn’t want them to feel bad but internally I agreed. We were boring. We didn’t have any fantastical dysfunction.  We  were annoyingly conscientious and concerned with the nature of the right action.

The only point of interest was that we have some snown1gger in us.  I grew-up with many Dala Horses in da house and Yule Goats at Christmas along with Ableskivers ( I will be posting that recipe and how to soon)

Of course I know that if you look fååår enough in my background you will find Danegeld North England raiders-I just never felt connected to it. Until a few days ago. I was making a birthday card for someone I love very much and bc reasons I wrote Happy Birthday in Danish. card copy.jpg

(Do you see the dag which is day is so close to the German Tag?)  I had this fairly cheap polka-dotted floral ribbon that I wanted to use up because I didn’t have enough to do a real project with. So I cut out the hearts and modge-podged them around the sentiment. Then I thought I would dot up the letters for cohesion. 

As the four readers of my blog already know I am always on about, you can only build what is already inside of you. As in culture is a byproduct of biology. I sat back surprised to realize when I had finished my card that unintentionally I had made a card with a snown1gger aesthetic.

I think it’s the first time I really felt connected to it.I mean I knew-I knew blah blah but I didn’t really see why I should care- like most of the powerful feels in my life it really surprised me.

I am now at the point where I can champion our British heritage with complete enthusiasm to my sibs. If I get the opportunity-when I get the opportunity. Not often. Of course they all think I am crazy- but I hold a special place in my family.  They think I am crazy but they also think I am right. 

My mother calls me her “magic 8ball daughter” that whenever she wants to divine the future she just has to shake me up.

Not really fair but it makes her happy. She is naturally distressed about what is happening to our people but smiles her pretty smile when I remind her how we brought civilization to the world and snown1ggers don’t need numbers when we’ve got strategy.

Leave a Reply

