White Privilege

You know what White Privilege is like? It’s like you coming over to my house uninvited. Or rather you coming into my house with a key given to you by a stalker who wants to harm me. That’s beside the point though. The point is YOU are in MY house. 

parasite

Then you march straight toward my clothes closet. I stand bewildered while your niece comes waltzing in. You both start flipping through my color and type of clothing sorted closet. You ignore me and make disdainful remarks to each other along the lines of:  “Must be nice to own all these silk blouses!” “No one needs 30 skirts!” “Look at her racks of shoes!”  You pay no respect to the order or care I have taken in arranging things. Some of my choices you don’t like so you pull them off the hanger and throw them down on the floor walking on them.

You find a pair of shoes you like and try them on. Your foot is wider than mine. They don’t fit.

cindyshoe

This enrages you. You take it off and throw it at me. WHY DO YOUR SHOES NOT FIT ME YOU BIGOT?  You scream at me.

Because they’re mine” I explain. You don’t listen though. You are busy tearing apart my closet in your rage. “HOPE PRIVILEGE!!” You wail.

This is white privilege.

I’ll use the example of Mexico although it’s just an example. It could be a member of any other nation. By nation I mean people not borders or citizenship. I love Mexico. It’s got a rich and interesting culture. You tell me I have no culture. But what then were you just trying to fit into? guada4My congress building is not painted like this.  I do appreciate the drama of it and find it exciting. That doesn’t mean that I share the aesthetic of this being in a governmental building. I like the staid and restrained in that instance. Imagine me going to Mexico and demanding that they end their Mexican privilege?  That they are evil and bad people if they do not conform to MY WISHES?

That would be so arrogant and outrageous! Yet that is what is happening to us.  The only people who can support this genocidal agenda of not allowing people their own culture in their own lands are aggressive racists. Not only do they attempt genocide against us they insist that we pay for the difficulties it brings. Their violence and destruction of our educational system. 

White people are pathologically altruistic it’s true. But even white girls get weary. This white girl is weary too.

 

 

Leave a Reply

