Language in Black and White

One of my social media strategies is to always keep a few people I am diametrically opposed to in my feed. I have this irrational thought that I can break any spell I am under with information from the opposition. Why I think this is necessary? Some strange addiction to integrity. Integrity really means virginity-when virginity means unbroken or whole.

But I was born into a world of duality and triangulation. A world of tension and competition-how can completeness be possible in a world that struggles against itself? 

banwgirls

So I had this dialogue w/a woman who supports Black Lives Matter. I may write more about this. It was actually quite painful for me on many levels that would take too many words.

 I asked her what she wanted. This is confusing for me. Again- I know but another post.  She said she wanted to be heard. She said that black people (I don’t believe she meant all- but many) feel less-than. To be ‘heard’ is imperative. After that-there is not a lot of definite direction. They are hurt. Granted. All living beings are hurt. It’s the deal.

Bc I was a linguistics major-or maybe I’m just saying that to prop my theory up- I thought of a story that I can’t remember the source of atm. It was of a white man in Africa last mid-century. He wanted to record and define a variety of African languages. You know- in a dictionary. He made friends with the locals. He recalls being asked why he had an English dictionary by two friendly women. Wasn’t English his language?

He responded affirmatively. “Then why don’t you know all the words already?” was their basic response. They knew all the words of their language as it lived only in them.

This story ran in my head as this black woman relayed the NEED TO BE HEARD to me. I tried to explain that when white people hear you-we tend not to respond in a dramatic way. YT takes in information- processes it internally and searches for solutions. But making a big noise is looked down on and suspicious in our culture. That does not mean we don’t hear or don’t care.

When YT came to Africa- the Africans did not have written language. Why would they? We developed in a land of privation-while they developed in a land of plenty. beautiful-africa-sunset_39681swedish_winter_landscape_2-e1417790909526

 

Therefore to what purpose would Africans have sitting in their huts configuring reference manuals when life was so plentiful to them?  None. They would however need to pass down certain charms-medicinal treatments-cultural norms. If their tradition was oral vs. written- the best way to do this is repetition.   There is no reference manual. Your children’s health and well-being is based on repetition. Your immediate concern would be referencing the past.

 

Negative-space-thumb.jpg

On the other hand- yt’s survival is contingent on planning for the future. huWhytes have to always be thinking of the future bc just like blacks looking toward the past for best strategy for survival-our survival depends on planning for cold deathly winters that we may very well not survive. But if there is a written record—

I believe this is a fundamental reason we are so incompatible. Perhaps this could be helped if it was understood. Whites are the most compassionate people. Blacks on the other hand don’t seem to have any concern for others. If I am wrong please give me an example. (I do believe their are outliers and am actually not racist)  It’s funny how being observant is ‘racism’. When I say I am not racist- I mean I am not unkind to people of other races-it doesn’t mean I cannot see or hear or recognize patterns. Give me an example though of blacks being empathetic to a group of anything including animals that doesn’t serve their own needs. There are a kajillion of white ones. Including organizations that benefit blacks.

I don’t have the answer. I am quite sure though that the continued censorship and harassment of white people is NOT THE BEST START AND WILL NOT END WELL. WE ARE THE MOST DISCIPLINED OF ALL. CHECK YOURSELVES. OUR PATIENCE WHILE LONG HAS ITS LIMITS.

Leave a Reply

